Environmental Impact Assessments (Hansard, 3 December 1990)
HC Deb 03 December 1990 vol 182 cc27-8W
Ms. Ruddock

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport if he will list all road schemes which have had their line orders confirmed since 21 July 1988, and for which no environmental impact assessment study has been conducted.

Mr. Chope

All schemes in the national trunk road programme have for many years been subject to a very full environmental appraisal before the line orders are confirmed. Within the requirements of the EC directive, a formal environmental statement has accompanied all draft orders published since 21 July 1988. Those for which line orders were confirmed since that date but which did not fall within the requirements of the directive are as follows:

  • M3 Bar End—Compton
  • A1 Bramham—Wetherby
  • A1 Wetherby—Dishforth
  • A1 Gatenby lane, Leeming
  • A1 Tempsford overbridge scheme
  • A3 Liphook—Ham Barn part 2
  • A3 Milford bypass
  • A6 Burton Latimer bypass
  • A6 Black Lodge improvement
  • A5/A49 Telford—Shrewsbury
  • A6 (M) Stockport north/south bypass
  • A10 Brandon Creek—Southery
  • A12 Gorleston relief road
  • A12 Capel St. Mary grade separated junction
  • A16 Louth bypass
  • A16 Ludborough bypass
  • A20 Dawkinge Wood—Court Wood
  • A20 Court Wood—Dover
  • A30 Penhale—Carland Cross
  • A30 Plusha—Bolventor
  • A30 Zelah bypass
  • A34 Newbury bypass
  • A35 Yellowham Hill—Troytown
  • A38 Marsh Mills grade separated junction
  • A39 Fairy Cross—Horns Cross
  • A41 Berkhamstead and King's Langley bypasses
  • A43 Blisworth bypass
  • A46 East Norton bypass
  • A47 Etling Green junction improvement
  • A47 Narborough bypass
  • A49 Weaverham diversion
  • A59 Mellor Brook bypass
  • A65 Burley-in-Wharfedale bypass
  • A65 Draughton bypass
  • A140 Dickleburgh bypass
  • A303 Chicklade Bottom to Stockton Wood
  • A303 Mere Wincanton improvement
  • A406 Popes lane to Western avenue improvement
  • A406 Silver street to Hall lane improvement
  • A406 East London river crossing
  • A500 Nantwich bypass
  • A516 Etwall bypass
  • A568 Widnes eastern bypass
  • A590 Dalton-in-Furness
  • A595 Egremont bypass
  • A595 Hensingham bypass
  • A596 Wigton bypass
  • A650 Drighlington bypass
  • A1079 Market Weighton bypass